PDA

View Full Version : How to read ECU fault codes. 1KZ-TE & D4D



MickL
08-03-2009, 10:25 PM
The ability to self diagnose and store faults as an extractable code is a great feature of modern engine management systems.

It assists us to trouble shoot what is an increasingly complex system and is especially handy for finding the cause of those intermittent problems that would otherwise drive us insane trying to find.

Despite the 1kz-te being an old school technology engine its engine management is relatively sophisticated (It can be thought of as single point electronic fuel injection)

The codes stored in the ECU can be easily extracted at home and are displayed via the engine check light on the instrument cluster.

The codes can be read by shorting out pin 4 and 13 on the (16 pin) DLC3 connector located under the fuse box on the driver’s side of the dash.

A short piece of wire can be used to short the pins (tin the ends with solder and keep it in your tool kit)

http://i191.photobucket.com/albums/z221/mickl_photos/Prado%20point/2Medium-1.jpg


Steps:

1) Make sure the ignition is OFF, throttle closed, Aircon OFF and if it’s automatic have it in P.
2) Turn the ignition ON but don’t crank or start the engine.
3) Put the jumper wire across the connector pins. (pin 4 and pin 13)
4) Read codes displayed via the engine check light.
5) Disconnect the wire when finished extracting codes and turn the ignition off.

Reading Codes:

Codes are read by the flashing of the “Check Engine” light on the instrument cluster.

http://i191.photobucket.com/albums/z221/mickl_photos/Prado%20point/1Medium.jpg


If there are no codes held in the ECU then the light will have a continuous flash, on for ¼ second, off for ¼ second.

All the codes are two digit numbers. The first flash is 4.5 seconds from when you short the pins. It stays on for ½ a second then off for ½ a second. Then the first digit of the code will flash, followed by a 1.5 second pause then the second digit will flash.

Example:

4x flashes…. 1.5 second pause…2x flashes. Would be code 42.


If there is only one code the there will be a 4.5 second pause before the code will be repeated.

If more codes are present the codes the pause between codes will be 2.5 seconds.

To clear the codes from the memory of the ECU remove the fuse labeled “ECD” from the fuse box in the engine bay. Leave it out for 60 seconds.
(Don’t clear the memory by removing the battery or you will have to reset the clock, radio and windows)


Codes and what sensor/circuit it relates too:

1KZ-TE diagnostic codes:

12 = No RPM signal during cranking.
13 = No RPM signal after cranking and engine reaches 680rpm+
14 = Timing control signal (crankshaft angle 7 deg or more out from target)
15 = Throttle control motor (no signal)
16 = Auto trans control signal
18 = Spill control valve (no signal)
19 = Accel pedal position sensor (no signal)
22 = Coolant temp sensor
24 = Intake air temp sensor.
32 = Correction resistor signal.
33 = Intake constrictor control signal.
35 = Boost pressure sensor.
39 = Fuel temp sensor.
41 = Throttle position sensor.
42 = Vehicle speed sensor.
43 = Starter signal to ECU.
51 = Switch control system
96 = EGR valve lift sensor.
99 = Engine immobilizer.


D4D diagnostic codes:

Extracting ECU trouble codes from D4D powered Prado’s via the engine check light uses exactly the same method as shown for the 1KZ-TE above.

Those of you with a Scan Gauge or similar OBD reader will get codes displayed on the screen of the unit. These codes are in a slightly different format (letter “P” followed by a four digit number).

D4D engine management fault codes:

The first code is that shown via an OBD reader, the second code shown (in brackets) is shown via the engine check light.

P0045 (34) - Boost control solenoid circuit malfunction

P0087 (49) - Fuel rail pressure sensor or rail pressure too low.

P0088 (49) - Fuel rail pressure too high.

P0093 (78) - Fuel system leak (Large leak)

P0095 (23) - Intake air temperature sensor circuit (open/short/failure)

P0097 (23) - Intake air temp circuit low input.

P0098 (23) - Intake temperature sensor circuit high input.

P0100 (31) - Mass air flow meter or circuit (open/short/failure)

P0102 (31) - Air flow meter circuit low input.

P0103 (31) - Air flow meter circuit high input.

P0105 (31) - Manifold absolute pressure sensor circuit (short/open/failure)

P0107 (31) - Manifold absolute pressure sensor circuit low input.

P0108 (31) - Manifold absolute pressure sensor circuit high input.

P0110 (24) - Intake air temperature circuit (open/short/failure)

P0112 (24) - Intake air temperature circuit low input

P0113 (24) - Intake air temperature circuit high input.

P0115 (22) - Coolant temperature circuit (open/short/failure).

P0117 (22) - Coolant temperature circuit low input.

P0118 (22) - Coolant temperature circuit high input.

P0168 (39) - Fuel temperature too high.

P0180 (39) - Fuel temp sensor “A” (open/short/failure)

P0182 (39) - Fuel temp sensor “A” low input.

P0183 (39) - Fuel temp sensor “A” high input.

P0190 (49) - Fuel rail pressure sensor circuit (open/short/failure)

P0191 (49) - Fuel rail pressure sensor circuit performance/range

P0192 (49) - Fuel rail pressure sensor circuit input low.

P0193 (49) - Fuel rail pressure sensor circuit high input.

P0200 (97) - Injector circuit (open/short/failure)

P0234 (34) - Turbo over boost condition.

P0299 (34) - Turbo under boost condition.

P0335 (12,13) - Crankshaft position sensor circuit “A” (open/short/failure).

P0339 (13) - Crankshaft position sensor circuit “A” intermittent fault.

P0340 (12) - Crankshaft position sensor circuit “A” no signal after cranking.

P0400 (71) - EGR position sensor (valve out of position)

P0405 (96) - EGR position sensor low input.

P0406 (96) - EGR position sensor high input.

P0488 (15) - EGR throttle position sensor/motor/circuit fault.

P0500 (42) - Vehicle speed sensor “A” (open/short/failure)

P0504 (51) - Brake switch.

P0607 (89) - Control module fault (ECM internal fault)

P0627 (78) - Fuel pump control circuit (open/short/failure)

P1229 (78) - Fuel pump fail.

P1251 (34) - Turbocharger stepper motor circuit (intermittent fault)

P1271 - Fuel regulator circuit malfunction. (open/short/failure)

P1272 - Fuel pressure regulator malfunction (simultaneously with P1271)

P1601 (89) - Injector correction circuit (E-prom)

P1611 (17) - ECM run pulse.

P2008 (58) - Intake manifold runner control circuit (open/short/failure)

P2120 (19) - Throttle/pedal position sensor “D” (open/short/fail)

P2121 (19) - Throttle/pedal position sensor “D” (range/performance)

P2122 (19) - Throttle/pedal position sensor “D” low input.

P2123 (19) - Throttle/pedal position sensor “D” input high.

P2125 (19) - Throttle/pedal position sensor “E” (open/short/fail)

P2127 (19) - Throttle/pedal position sensor “E” low input.

P2128 (19) - Throttle/pedal position sensor “E” high input.

P2138 (19) - Throttle/pedal position sensor “D” and “E” voltage correlation.

P2226 (105) - ECM barometric pressure circuit.

P2228 (105) - ECM barometric pressure circuit low input.

P2229 (105) - ECM barometric pressure circuit high input.

U0001 (102) - ECM open or short.

B2799 (99) - Engine immobilizer malfunction.



Mick

Daz
08-03-2009, 11:03 PM
Good one MickL. Will print this and put in glovebox with a paperclip.......

This is pretty much the same technology that has been on petrol ECU systems for last 20 yrs, used by Holden, Nissan etc.
Commodores started with the VK Commodores in 1984, and has been slowly evolving over the years, and soon found itself on just about everything, including trucks, tractors, earthmoving machinary etc.

joey
09-03-2009, 05:47 AM
Thanks Mick,

top bit of information mate .this will be real handy especially with the boost mods and additions...

thanks

joey

MickL
09-03-2009, 10:28 AM
I'll do the same write for the petrol and d4d engines when I get all the codes together and time :!:

Hopefully a helpfull resource.

Mick

MickL
16-03-2009, 09:19 PM
Updated with D4D engine management codes....


Transmission/ABS/SRS/A.C codes to follow.....

Mick

sacred cow
18-03-2009, 04:25 PM
Hi Mick,

Thanks very much for this. I think it would be desirable to jumper from pins 4 to 13 before power is applied in order to mitigate against a short circuit. Do you see any problem with this change in the sequence? I too will put a copy of your work in the glovebox.

Regards
Glenn

MickL
18-03-2009, 05:14 PM
I think it would be desirable to jumper from pins 4 to 13 before power is applied in order to mitigate against a short circuit. Do you see any problem with this change in the sequence

The sequence is as per "Toyota" specify.

The only issue I can see is powering up with the jumper wire in place is that that may in its self cause a fault code, but I would have to test that theory.

One of the pins is an earth and one is the powered up diagnostic circuit. By adding the jumper wire you are completing the circuit so there is not really a potential for a short circuit as such, the diagnostic circut also is very low current drawing (milliamps) so there is no chance of arcing either. Most of the other pins are not connected (blank) and the connector is numbered also, so getting it wrong would be quite unlikely.

I'll get a better picture of the plug so it is clear which pins are which.


Mick

barkern
07-06-2012, 10:11 PM
Hi Mick, Any chance you can get the photos to work again for this? just had my light come up after cleaning my throttle body and want to know what its for. cheers

MickL
21-06-2012, 09:00 PM
Hi Barken,

Sorry I didn't reply, I've been out of the Pradopoint loop for some time. Looks like my Photobucket account is cactus. I assume that by now you have sorted your issues, if not drop me a PM with your Email address.

Regards,

Mick

Madkore
21-06-2012, 11:41 PM
Hey Mick, you coming back into the circle or just popped in to say g'day?

Talktheroo
22-06-2012, 09:33 AM
It would be good to see you back on here Mick.
The Roo.

vscorsa
22-06-2012, 10:10 AM
Hi All,

Has anyone had a fault code starting with "C" not "P" for a D4D using the scan gauge?

I had trouble starting mine before, pressed start button and it would flash green but not start. After a few tries it started and now is logging a lot of fault code events.

Cheers

Dave


Cheers

Dave

Hibbo
22-06-2012, 02:40 PM
Hi Dave,

My partner had a corolla with the push start button, and there was a time when she pushed the button, the car tried to start but didn't. after a few attempts, the battery went flat. Turns out it was flooded! Don't know if this can happen to the D4Ds', just thought that maybe its something that could happen to these new "key less" start buttons??

vscorsa
23-06-2012, 08:00 AM
Hi Hibbo,

Thanks for the reply, it turns out that any code starting with C is related to the chassis where P is only for the engine.

The tech guys aren't sure, once I started it a second time it stopped throwing fault codes. They claim they have had an issue when steering wheels are locked on at full lock.. Time will tell, I just hope it's not when we are half way across the Simmo!! :p

Cheers

Dave



Hi Dave,

My partner had a corolla with the push start button, and there was a time when she pushed the button, the car tried to start but didn't. after a few attempts, the battery went flat. Turns out it was flooded! Don't know if this can happen to the D4Ds', just thought that maybe its something that could happen to these new "key less" start buttons??

Talktheroo
23-06-2012, 10:19 AM
And thus, one of the problems with the modern day 4wd vehicles. That's why for a good condition diesel 80 you are paying upwards of $20,000 still on the secondhand market.
The Roo.

barkern
26-06-2012, 01:08 PM
Hi Barken,

Sorry I didn't reply, I've been out of the Pradopoint loop for some time. Looks like my Photobucket account is cactus. I assume that by now you have sorted your issues, if not drop me a PM with your Email address.

Regards,

Mick

Hey Mick, managed to get it sorted OK cheers. Got a 51 = Switch control system
96 = EGR valve lift sensor.
Turns out i forgot to plug the EGR back up when i was cleaning the throttle body...

MickL
27-06-2012, 09:48 PM
Hey Mick, you coming back into the circle or just popped in to say g'day?

Hey,

I'll try and be on now and then. I've been busy with my business, new family addition and also nearly sold the Prado as I needed a work vehicle and the Prado had been in storage for nearly 6 months. In the end we've kept the Prado as I couldn't bare to part with it. Now have a Hilux 150 D4D to cover the work duties. The Prado will see it's first off road trip this year shortly with a trip to the Flinders/Arkaroola. Glad to be back into it.... I've worked every weekend since mid December!!

Mick

MickL
27-06-2012, 09:54 PM
It would be good to see you back on here Mick.
The Roo.

Thanks Roo, I wish I had more time for it. I like helping people out and sharing what I can. it's just been a very hectic time for me over the last year.


Mick

AJ120
27-06-2012, 10:04 PM
Hey,

I'll try and be on now and then. I've been busy with my business, new family addition and also nearly sold the Prado as I needed a work vehicle and the Prado had been in storage for nearly 6 months. In the end we've kept the Prado as I couldn't bare to part with it. Now have a Hilux 150 D4D to cover the work duties. The Prado will see it's first off road trip this year shortly with a trip to the Flinders/Arkaroola. Glad to be back into it.... I've worked every weekend since mid December!!

Mick

Good to see you back Mick! Hope the new addition is doing well.

Prado and a 150 lux, now I am jealous

Cheers Andrew

MickL
27-06-2012, 10:19 PM
Good to see you back Mick! Hope the new addition is doing well.

Prado and a 150 lux, now I am jealous

Cheers Andrew

Don't be. The Lux is a 2wd single cab with service body, the ride is bloody awful. My good old 1kz 120 runs rings around it in terms of driveability and out right engine performance. I'm not all that impressed with the standard d4d's performace, I've already removed all the egr and also the throttle body plate too and I've only had it a month! Can't help but modify things!


Mick

Madkore
28-06-2012, 03:00 PM
We should start a welcome back MickL thread!

We did it for MLC and he was only gone for a few hours...

blakegregory
10-08-2012, 02:33 PM
Thanks for this, saves me having to drive all the way to the Toyota Service Centre whenever it comes up. Just FYI, it doesnt matter whether you bridge out the two pins before or after ignition as I just tried it. Have now found that my EGR position sensor is faulty, hopefully its just a loose plug.

ondaboat
29-07-2013, 10:55 AM
Thanks Mick for the handy info.

Had a P0400 code come up on the new motor, Googled it and once again Pradopoint to the rescue.

Regards Adam

blakegregory
29-07-2013, 04:30 PM
Thanks Mick for the handy info.

Had a P0400 code come up on the new motor, Googled it and once again Pradopoint to the rescue.

Regards Adam

I have the same issue, what did you do to fix it? I tried googling but had no luck.

ondaboat
30-07-2013, 11:09 AM
Haven't fixed it as yet. Went to Toyota, told them the code and what it was, then sat in the waiting room for an hour for them to charge me $70 to tell me what I told them. WTF! They need the car for more time but there is a check list of what to look for for that code. Need to find that. What the mechanic did say was proberbly a hose has either fallen off, got a small hole in it or when motor was done put in the wrong place.

Regards Adam

blakegregory
30-07-2013, 04:19 PM
Ok thanks for that, I will have a bit of a look around tomorrow.

ondaboat
09-09-2013, 11:22 AM
Just an update to my P0400 ((71) - EGR position sensor (valve out of position)) problem I had. Wife dropped the car into Toyota and they found 2 vacuum hoses had fallen off. They put them back on and all good, although the new motor seems to be running a bit "rich"?

Also have had a code P1264 come up but no info on this in the above list. Anybody have any idea?

Regards Adam

cfryback
09-09-2013, 11:56 AM
Just an update to my P0400 ((71) - EGR position sensor (valve out of position)) problem I had. Wife dropped the car into Toyota and they found 2 vacuum hoses had fallen off. They put them back on and all good, although the new motor seems to be running a bit "rich"?

Also have had a code P1264 come up but no info on this in the above list. Anybody have any idea?

Regards Adam

I had the P0400 -P0404, EGR Sensor over voltage, out of position. Had to replace - Toyota part #8945535020 (Expensive from Toyota - I got mine from Amayama for $48)

Your P1264 code, I googled for you and followed my nose to here, even though it is a HiAce, but has the similar 1KD-FTV plant, I believe the fault code is the same.

http://intranet.toyotaperu.com.pe/tdp_sit/data/TOYOTA/HIACE/rm04z2eA/repair2/html/frame_rm000002ppm003x.html

ondaboat
09-09-2013, 01:59 PM
Your P1264 code, I googled for you and followed my nose to here, even though it is a HiAce, but has the similar 1KD-FTV plant, I believe the fault code is the same.

http://intranet.toyotaperu.com.pe/tdp_sit/data/TOYOTA/HIACE/rm04z2eA/repair2/html/frame_rm000002ppm003x.html

100% correct, so here's what dumb ass did to get the code. I had the kick panels off in the front passenger seat to re run a couple of cables and didn't finish. Turned the car on to wind up windows last night but had left this unplugged

http://s6.postimg.org/f2bz1rm99/P1020519.jpg (http://postimg.org/image/f2bz1rm99/)

Have reset the ECU and no further problems.

Thanks cfryback at least there was a valid reason as to why the code came up.

Regards Adam

cfryback
09-09-2013, 06:26 PM
100% correct, so here's what dumb ass did to get the code. I had the kick panels off in the front passenger seat to re run a couple of cables and didn't finish. Turned the car on to wind up windows last night but had left this unplugged

http://s6.postimg.org/f2bz1rm99/P1020519.jpg (http://postimg.org/image/f2bz1rm99/)

Have reset the ECU and no further problems.

Thanks cfryback at least there was a valid reason as to why the code came up.

Regards Adam

D'oh! At least it was a simple fix.

Though I did miss the "check engine" light that had been on for three weeks....My luck the fault is still there, bulb is out!

gregfarq
22-10-2013, 07:31 AM
Hey Guys,

I have a 2012 VX D4D Prado, with a chipit chip, 45,000kms on it, starting getting error codes - P0087 (49) - Fuel rail pressure sensor or rail pressure too low. and P0191 (49) - Fuel rail pressure sensor circuit performance/range.

Initially, I thought maybe the chip had been wound up too much - was on setting 8 of 15, so I reverted it back to setting 4 which is standard - the problem still occured, you could drive for maybe 50 seconds before the scan gauage showed this error, then the car would go into limp mode. I could clear the codes and then drive for another few minutes.

The next day, I subsequently replaced both fuel filters thinking that it may be due to lack of fuel pressure, if then drove fine.
I had 1/4 of a tank of fuel left, so filled up at my usual servo.
Drove it around 150kms with no issues, and it has started coming up with these errors again.

I generally use the same Service station for fuel, but in the last tank I did go to a different Caltex servo.

Have any of you had this problem before?

Im wondering if I got some bad fuel?

Any help is appreacited.

pjorek
22-10-2013, 10:57 AM
If it was me I'd get rid off the crap it (I mean chip it) chip. Lots of threads around here about them and not a lot of positive feedback.

Sorry to hear

tassie tiger
24-01-2014, 03:31 PM
Well thanks to this thread I found out that my 1kzte had an error 51 which is a "switch control system" error.

Woohoo! Disconnected the battery for a while and all clear.

Still idling a bit rough and a new set of injectors are on order. I was wondering though - What is a ''switch control system' and what does it do?

:)

Mamadou
17-04-2014, 01:37 AM
Well thanks to this thread I found out that my 1kzte had an error 51 which is a "switch control system" error.

Woohoo! Disconnected the battery for a while and all clear.

Still idling a bit rough and a new set of injectors are on order. I was wondering though - What is a ''switch control system' and what does it do?

:)

Hi,

2007 Prado VX 1KZ-TE in my case (manual)... a little bit of a newbie in my case:

-> So to be clear, no OBD or OBD II on my prado, right? (still looking into this...)

The code 51 you got is using the above posted method right not on of those OBD's?

Thanks in advance...

craigm
17-04-2014, 06:52 AM
I think ODB II was the standard on Prado's from 08/2004 Mamadou. Same time as the 5 Spd auto was introduced. ( I Missed out by 1 mth.... Grrrrr)


Sent from my iPhone thingy

Mamadou
17-04-2014, 03:39 PM
I think ODB II was the standard on Prado's from 08/2004 Mamadou. Same time as the 5 Spd auto was introduced. ( I Missed out by 1 mth.... Grrrrr)


Sent from my iPhone thingy

Thank you sir! ... where can I check - below the steering wheel ? I will...

Thanks