PDA

View Full Version : Custom Circuit Breaker & Fusebox Setup



Fungi2003
16-08-2008, 08:40 PM
Presently I have one merit socket (wired to the rear of my Prado) that the Waeco CF50 runs off (see my dual battery install for more details: http://www.pradopoint.com/viewtopic.php ... sc&start=0 (http://www.pradopoint.com/viewtopic.php?t=2853&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0)) and I wanted to prepare the vehicle for any additional items I will be installing in the future. In saying this I had an idea that should create my own custom circuit breaker and fuse box setup.

Well this is what I made up earlier on today, something simple that had a circuit breaker (that I currently don't have) and a 6 way fuse box. So far I've only wired up 3 10A wires (UHF radio, Light Force driving lights, rear working light) and I intend to wire up another 3 60A wires (to run the fridge, winch and camper trailer) before I install the unit.

http://users.on.net/~turcic/customfusebox/CustomFusebox1.jpg

http://users.on.net/~turcic/customfusebox/CustomFusebox2.jpg

http://users.on.net/~turcic/customfusebox/CustomFusebox3.jpg

My intention is to bolt the setup onto the existing screw holes located on the left hand side of the engine bay. Outstanding things I need to before I install it:
* install 3 60A wire,
* seal the rear with a thick rubber mat,
* file the edges so they aren't as sharp,
* purchase rubber grommits I can put between the setup and the screw holes - I want this to be at least 0.5 cm away from the body of the vehicle.

Any opinions or constructive criticism are more than welcome.

clifton
17-08-2008, 08:00 AM
Hi Fungi,
I always run a strip off rubber under the terminals of the Hot side in case of connectors vibrating off and shorting on the mounting plate on corrugated roads probably a bit over the top, looking good so far Fungi. :) :) :)

Kevin
17-08-2008, 08:08 AM
Top stuff fungi,
I really need to do something like this to clean up the tangled mess on top of my second battery.

Crammy
17-08-2008, 08:48 AM
Looks good fungi a couple of things for you to think about.

When you say that your going to run a 60A wire for the winch are you talking car winch? If it is you'll have buckleys chance of running a winch off a 60A breaker. A 9000lbs winch can run at up to 425A @ full load current. Forget fusing the winch if your installing a car winch.

Also 60A to run your fridge is over kill. Remember, the protection device is there to protect your cabling and you also don't want to run a 60A breaker on a 20A outlet (if thats what it's rated at).

If you're planning on mounting it on the passenger side up the back of the engine bay, you will need to pack it out more that 0.5cm I think from memory I had to pack mine out about 10mm or so for adequate clearance.

Cheers,

Crammy :D

damonat
17-08-2008, 09:03 AM
Presently I have one merit socket (wired to the rear of my Prado) that the Waeco CF50 runs off (see my dual battery install for more details: http://www.pradopoint.com/viewtopic.php ... sc&start=0 (http://www.pradopoint.com/viewtopic.php?t=2853&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0)) and I wanted to prepare the vehicle for any additional items I will be installing in the future. In saying this I had an idea that should create my own custom circuit breaker and fuse box setup.

Well this is what I made up earlier on today, something simple that had a circuit breaker (that I currently don't have) and a 6 way fuse box. So far I've only wired up 3 10A wires (UHF radio, Light Force driving lights, rear working light) and I intend to wire up another 3 60A wires (to run the fridge, winch and camper trailer) before I install the unit.

http://users.on.net/~turcic/customfusebox/CustomFusebox1.jpg

My intention is to bolt the setup onto the existing screw holes located on the left hand side of the engine bay. Outstanding things I need to before I install it:
* install 3 60A wire,
* seal the rear with a thick rubber mat,
* file the edges so they aren't as sharp,
* purchase rubber grommits I can put between the setup and the screw holes - I want this to be at least 0.5 cm away from the body of the vehicle.

Any opinions or constructive criticism are more than welcome.

don't try and run any 60 amp power to this fuse box.
it is only rated to 15amps.
better to get a fuse box like this.
chippy and myself run these, and possibly others.
good for 100amps load.
it run up 30amp fuses on this set-up.
and the good parts are
1 power and earth supply wires.
i also have the same fuse box as you, but didn't use as i don't like
needing to supply individual power supply wires to every fuse.

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg200/natdamo/03082008380.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg200/natdamo/03082008381.jpg

Crammy
17-08-2008, 09:42 AM
60A to the fuse box will be ok, it doesn't run a bus setup. It's a 6 way box so you need to supply it with a max of 90A if each pole(circuit) is rated at 15A. This wouldn't be required though as the chances of running the max of 15A through each 6 circuits at once would be pretty rare.

I like your setup damont, it looks an easy to connect to distribution point.

Signature035
17-08-2008, 06:13 PM
Damonut, apologies if this is a very basic question........ been playing with one of these fuse blocks in my Camper Van all weekend. Did you run the earth back to the battery? or just to earth?

damonat
17-08-2008, 07:18 PM
Damonut, apologies if this is a very basic question........ been playing with one of these fuse blocks in my Camper Van all weekend. Did you run the earth back to the battery? or just to earth?
just to a good bare metal body earth.

Fungi2003
19-08-2008, 08:02 AM
Thanks for the reply peoples! Do you think this setup is ok to run:
* UHF radio,
* Light Force driving lights,
* rear working light,
* Fridge

Is the 60A circuit breaker overkill? I suppose I got this idea from MUMSRIG's setup (here: http://www.pradopoint.com/viewtopic.php ... c&start=30 (http://www.pradopoint.com/viewtopic.php?t=1335&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=30))

damonat
19-08-2008, 05:37 PM
Thanks for the reply peoples! Do you think this setup is ok to run:
* UHF radio,
* Light Force driving lights,
* rear working light,
* Fridge

Is the 60A circuit breaker overkill? I suppose I got this idea from MUMSRIG's setup (here: http://www.pradopoint.com/viewtopic.php ... c&start=30 (http://www.pradopoint.com/viewtopic.php?t=1335&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=30))
yep it will run these items just fine

LenGXV6
19-08-2008, 11:09 PM
Damonat

Where did you get that fuse box from, never seen one like that before and would like to get one.

damonat
20-08-2008, 05:09 AM
Damonat

Where did you get that fuse box from, never seen one like that before and would like to get one.
chippy has mentioned it before on his build-up,
but chippy was only think small. funny that :lol:

http://stores.ebay.com.au/Jamies-12volt-Solar-shop

waltec
21-08-2008, 05:31 PM
Springers (http://www.springers.com.au/Products.aspx?CategoryID=36) also sell them. Probably not as cheap as the ebay store, but they are available ATM. I might have to see the boys and see if they can do a deal for PP members :D We just bought a 12 way for the new Satellite Troopy we are building at work, can't fault the build quality. It runs a bus bar down the middle, we ended up cutting the bar in half, and put another terminal bolt near the original positive term. We are going to feed this one via a relay control by the accessories on the ignition, that way we have 6 perminant and 6 accessories fuses. Makes wiring up all the radios and stuff very easy.

Matt

celwar
05-11-2008, 07:45 AM
Just installing an auxilliary fusebox myself but decided not to put it in the engine bay. Looked around the driver side fusebox area but nothing really approriate to mount it to.
Criteria was the mounting area had to be dry, well insulated and the fusebox including cables had to be out of sight.
Finally decided to mount it under the passenger side kickplate underneath the glove box.
Only low power accessories will be connected but 12v supply will be fed through the driver side firewall via a relay in the engine bay.

oldsalt
26-11-2008, 04:51 PM
Damonat

Where did you get that fuse box from, never seen one like that before and would like to get one.
chippy has mentioned it before on his build-up,
but chippy was only think small. funny that :lol:

http://stores.ebay.com.au/Jamies-12volt-Solar-shop

Thanks for this thread, I just bought one of these from the 12volt shop.
Isn't it great having a car that you can spent a fortune on, yea right!
http://www.12volt.com.au/General%20Htmls/webcat2003/fuses/fb5026.jpg

fishnut
26-11-2008, 08:02 PM
oldsalt,
I just put the 6 fuse version of that in my car less than a fortnight ago! I mounted it in the covered storage console in the cargo area - neat as a pin and easy to run cable to and from.

oldsalt
27-11-2008, 08:06 AM
I wanted a 6, however they are out of stock.

I have no idea what the size of the 12 is, I hope it fits in the engine bay somewhere?

fishnut
27-11-2008, 09:42 AM
Remember it's not waterproof (or water resistant for that matter) and I wouldn't sit it too close to anything that gets too hot - it might just become a thermal circuit-breaker :lol:

oldsalt
27-11-2008, 11:22 AM
Remember it's not waterproof (or water resistant for that matter) and I wouldn't sit it too close to anything that gets too hot - it might just become a thermal circuit-breaker :lol:

Thanks for the advice.

The only space I have is here, the waterproof fuse with orange wires will be replaced by the fusebox.

It doesn't get too hot there and water should not get to it, I hope.

http://i175.photobucket.com/albums/w145/navytpi/fusespace.jpg

I have just done a search of the web and it seems I bought a marine Blue Sea Systems Fuse Block 12 Circuit.

Most of the hits I got were on Boat web sites that would suggest they should have some water resistance?

For those interested, here are the dimensions http://bluesea.com/files/resources/sale ... Blocks.pdf (http://bluesea.com/files/resources/sales_sheets/ST_Blade_Fuse_Blocks.pdf)

http://resources.myeporia.com/company_57/5026.jpg

fishnut
27-11-2008, 07:59 PM
I assume you have bought it on-line and not seen it in the flesh, so to speak. The cover might prevent some splashes, and if you mount it high enough, you might just get away with it. I also think you might want to find a way to secure the cover better too. Given what I've done with the Prado, it would have fallen off and vanished by now. The sparkies on here might be better to ask than me, but since I have one, that's really my only experience. Wait til you see it and decide then. Leachy has put a fuse block/breaker inside a waterproof housing under the bonnet.

Perhaps I'm paranoid, but I wouldn't trust it under the bonnet when we were all doing this :wink: :

http://i204.photobucket.com/albums/bb188/Ch1ppy_photo/PP_trips/Icy%20Creek/ic31.jpg

Crammy
27-11-2008, 08:47 PM
I think it probably depends what sort of driving you'll be doing. If you expect to be doing regular water crossings, or driving in dusty environments for long periods probably best not to put it under the bonnet.

Fishnut, you'd probably find that crossing that river wouldn't submerge the back of the engine bay, you may get a few splashes though. But probably nothing immediately detrimental to the fuse box.

I had a similar box under the bonnet up the rear of the bonnet and never had any problems with it. It's survived quite a few river crossings and even a trip to the cape and still looked in good condition when I removed it.

What will cause dramas down the track will be corrosion of terminals. So where the fuses connect to the bus and both the pos and neg terminals. If you look after it it should be ok. Clean it out with contact cleaner or similar after you've been in the rough stuff.

Here's my current setup in the back.
http://i56.photobucket.com/albums/g185/vzgen4/RanOx/DSC_3138.jpg

Cheers,

Crammy :D

fishnut
27-11-2008, 10:01 PM
Well there you go... expected a sparky to have better advice than me :oops:

Crammy, looks like you have enough wires to power a small village in Africa with that lot :lol:

Crammy
27-11-2008, 10:08 PM
Well there you go... expected a sparky to have better advice than me :oops:

Crammy, looks like you have enough wires to power a small village in Africa with that lot :lol:

Haha good onya mate! I probably could too... There's all sorts of stuff running in the back now! I've even got 600w of chopped up 240v goodness ready to go.

Nothing wrong with your advice mate! :D You're pretty spot on, as I said just depends what you're putting in and how deep into the rough stuff you get. In your case it sounds as though in the rig is the go.

Cheers,

Crammy

Golly
27-11-2008, 10:53 PM
Here's my current setup in the back.
http://i56.photobucket.com/albums/g185/vzgen4/RanOx/DSC_3138.jpg

Cheers,

Crammy :D

Crammy, what does this setup enable you to do ? What do you have running off it.
At the moment, I have my spots running off the main battery, but that can easily be moved to the dual later. I would like to have a setup for all the gear in the back, like fridge, 240v convertor, kids dvd players, phone chargers for kids etc (running off dual battery). In the front the GPS, our phone charger and uhf can run off 12v's plugs in the front (main). That would be ok wouldnt it ?

dirttracker
28-11-2008, 05:12 PM
Golly Golly, (sorry),
read the threads on charging the dual battery and you may think twice about putting your spots on the second battery.

As to the fusebox, it is my assumption that a fusebox at the back of the engine compartment is as high and even further away from water than the factory fusebox at the front. It is also possible, ,like I have on both the main and aux batteries, to put a circuit breaker between the battery and the fuse box enabling you to totally disconnect the system and so not put the accessories at risk.

Martin

Crammy
28-11-2008, 05:26 PM
Crammy, what does this setup enable you to do ? What do you have running off it.
At the moment, I have my spots running off the main battery, but that can easily be moved to the dual later. I would like to have a setup for all the gear in the back, like fridge, 240v convertor, kids dvd players, phone chargers for kids etc (running off dual battery). In the front the GPS, our phone charger and uhf can run off 12v's plugs in the front (main). That would be ok wouldnt it ?

Hey Golly,

The fuse boxes are for my dual battery setup. The box on the right fuses "Main Battery" supplied items, and the one on the left supplies "Aux Battery" supplied items. The relays just switch the supply to the rear plugs from the Aux Battery to the Main Battery when the car starts. This is all a part of a Ranox charging system. The main fuse box also supplies a 600w 240v inverter. :D

You need to have a think about how you want to run all these items... So what I mean by that is, when will you be running these items... Generally when the car is running? or sometimes when the car is off for longer periods? For example, will you run the kids DVD player when the car is parked up or only when travelling? Once you do this you'll be able to work out how you should approach it.

Here's a few Ideas:

Spots: - No need to supply your spots from your auxiliary battery unless you'll be running them with the car off.

GPS & Phone: - You'll have no probs running your GPS and phone charger from the plugs... You could always hard wire your GPS if it were to stay permanently in your car from an accessory supply.

UHF: - The UHF I would hard wire also rather than plug into a 12v socket, this can also come off your accessories unless you plan to run it for long periods with the engine off.... In which case probably run off your aux battery supply.

DVD Players: - Supply from acessories(need to check current draw) unless using with car off, in which case run of aux battery.

240V Inverter: - Depending on size of the inverter, I would probably recommend coming straight off the main or aux battery. This is really dependent on what you want to do with your inverter.

Fridges camp lights: - Aux battery.

Of course it all depends on who you will be using everything. What I've written above won't be suitable for all setups/needs.

Hope this helps.

Crammy :D

Golly
30-11-2008, 07:47 AM
Crammy, what does this setup enable you to do ? What do you have running off it.
At the moment, I have my spots running off the main battery, but that can easily be moved to the dual later. I would like to have a setup for all the gear in the back, like fridge, 240v convertor, kids dvd players, phone chargers for kids etc (running off dual battery). In the front the GPS, our phone charger and uhf can run off 12v's plugs in the front (main). That would be ok wouldnt it ?

Hey Golly,

The fuse boxes are for my dual battery setup. The box on the right fuses "Main Battery" supplied items, and the one on the left supplies "Aux Battery" supplied items. The relays just switch the supply to the rear plugs from the Aux Battery to the Main Battery when the car starts. This is all a part of a Ranox charging system. The main fuse box also supplies a 600w 240v inverter. :D

You need to have a think about how you want to run all these items... So what I mean by that is, when will you be running these items... Generally when the car is running? or sometimes when the car is off for longer periods? For example, will you run the kids DVD player when the car is parked up or only when travelling? Once you do this you'll be able to work out how you should approach it.

Here's a few Ideas:

Spots: - No need to supply your spots from your auxiliary battery unless you'll be running them with the car off. (Main as are now)
GPS & Phone: - You'll have no probs running your GPS and phone charger from the plugs... You could always hard wire your GPS if it were to stay permanently in your car from an accessory supply. (Perfect)

UHF: - The UHF I would hard wire also rather than plug into a 12v socket, this can also come off your accessories unless you plan to run it for long periods with the engine off.... In which case probably run off your aux battery supply. (Main)
DVD Players: - Supply from acessories(need to check current draw) unless using with car off, in which case run of aux battery. (12v socket off main )

240V Inverter: - Depending on size of the inverter, I would probably recommend coming straight off the main or aux battery. This is really dependent on what you want to do with your inverter. (Auxillary)
Fridges camp lights: - (Main for now, not camping, running with vehicle on, will set up to Auxillary once installed sec battery)

Of course it all depends on who you will be using everything. What I've written above won't be suitable for all setups/needs. Suits mine ! :D

Hope this helps. Very much, thanks mate !

Crammy :D

oldsalt
30-11-2008, 09:21 AM
Here is a picture of my fusebox installed.

I put a strip of bluetack over the top to hold the cover more securely and to waterproof it.

http://i175.photobucket.com/albums/w145/navytpi/FuseFitted.jpg

Crammy
30-11-2008, 11:05 AM
Looks the goods old salt. If you're going to load up the box with more items down the track, I would probably recommend upgrading the wire size of both +ve and -ve wires feeding the fuse box. Should be ok for now as you've got pretty low current draw items connected and a short distance to your aux battery.

Cheers,

Crammy :D

oldsalt
30-11-2008, 12:37 PM
The fusebox instructions suggested size 4 or 6 wire, I used size 6.

Crammy
30-11-2008, 02:52 PM
The fusebox instructions suggested size 4 or 6 wire, I used size 6.

Size 6 as in 6mm2 or 6 AWG?

6 AWG = 13mm2
4 AWG = 21mm2

Also automotive sizing can be confusing with ratings in circular mm and cross sectional mm.

Yellow crimp lugs generally do up to 6mm2 so I'm assuming you mean 6mm2 or 6mm circular (3-4mm2 I think). I'd recommend the 13mm2 If you're loading up the box.

Crammy :D

oldsalt
30-11-2008, 07:23 PM
Seems I have to some more studying?

Thanks for the info.