PDA

View Full Version : Speedo adapters



craig
25-07-2008, 01:53 PM
Has anybody had a speedo adapter fitted after getting bigger tyres?

Apparently the speed sensor off the gearbox and the speed sensors on the ABS go into the computer, then it goes to the speedo.
I can disconnect my speedo from the gearbox and the speedo still works.

I have tried to get a adapter fitted but have not been successful.

mkh
25-07-2008, 04:26 PM
G'day.
Try Marks 4WD adapters. They produce a "speedo correction box" for cable and electronic speedos. Their website www.marks4wd.com (http://www.marks4wd.com) doesn't actually list one for Prado but maybe give them a call anyway as they're always bringing out new stuff.

Cheers.

craig
25-07-2008, 04:46 PM
It was a Marks Adapter that I tried to have fitted,
but it didn't work due to the other speed signals going to the computer.
Marks adapters are going to be looking into it to see if it can be done with one of their adapters.

ronb1002
25-07-2008, 08:05 PM
12 months ago I installed a Rally Computer in my new Prado. I did this by picking up the electronic feed to the speedo. This required me to work out where the signal came from and how to locate the wiring. I made extensive study of the wiring diagrams. This is my understanding of the situation. I may not be completely correct in what I say so please correct me if I am wrong. Note my Prado is a 2007 D4D, manual, with no ABS or VSC.

In the case of a non ABS / VSC vehicle, the signal for the speedo comes from the gearbox sensor direct to the speedo. The computer is not involved. This is the case with my vehicle.

I did not fully work out what happens in the case of ABS / VSC but from what I recall the gearbox sensor is not used (if fitted). Instead, the signal comes from the ABS sensors via the ECU.

If the Speedo Adaptor does not work, I would ask if the vehicle has ABS or VSC. If so, the adaptor is installed in the wrong placed. It should be installed in the cable going direct to the speedo and not in the lead from the gearbox. I think it should work in this case but getting access to the lead may be tricky.

Ron.

craig
25-07-2008, 10:22 PM
The adapter was hooked into the pick up off the gearbox and didn't work.
And yes I have ABS.
Do you still have the wiring diagrams for it?

ronb1002
25-07-2008, 11:27 PM
That explains why it doesn't work. The full manuals can be downloaded from Toyota Europe. You should be able to get what you want for a few Euros, that's where I got mind ( should find it on Google). Can be a bit of a pain to find what you want on the site. If you don't do any good e-mail me and I can send them to you, only a few pages.

Ron

lc120_man
25-07-2008, 11:56 PM
Been covered to death on LCOOL before... Short answer - there is no known
solution at this stage. What most people tend to do is to use GPS and/or ScanGauge to check their correct speed...

FlyNdrive
26-07-2008, 05:02 AM
Try the yellow box from here (http://www.blackrobotics.com). There is a writeup on the homepage @ mud (http://www.ih8mud.com/reviews/fzj80-yellowbox.php) and it works on all Toyo's.

-Ben

lc120_man
26-07-2008, 06:36 AM
Try the yellow box from here (http://www.blackrobotics.com). There is a writeup on the homepage @ mud (http://www.ih8mud.com/reviews/fzj80-yellowbox.php) and it works on all Toyo's.

-Ben

Got one on your truck Ben? If it works on FJ should work on the Prado then...

craig
26-07-2008, 07:32 AM
Been covered to death on LCOOL before... Short answer - there is no known
solution at this stage. What most people tend to do is to use GPS and/or ScanGauge to check their correct speed...


It would be nice if the scan gauge worked in my Prado but they don't.
And it would be also nice to be able to leave a GPS in the car and not have to worry about it being stolen.

D4D
26-07-2008, 07:42 AM
Been covered to death on LCOOL before... Short answer - there is no known
solution at this stage. What most people tend to do is to use GPS and/or ScanGauge to check their correct speed...


It would be nice if the scan gauge worked in my Prado but they don't.
And it would be also nice to be able to leave a GPS in the car and not have to worry about it being stolen.

Do what I do in the Mav, measure once with the GPS 40, 50, 60 etc then make up a paper conversion table, laminate it and keep it near the speedo.

FlyNdrive
26-07-2008, 09:28 AM
Try the yellow box from here (http://www.blackrobotics.com). There is a writeup on the homepage @ mud (http://www.ih8mud.com/reviews/fzj80-yellowbox.php) and it works on all Toyo's.

-Ben

Got one on your truck Ben? If it works on FJ should work on the Prado then...

No I don't have one, but other FJ's have from Mud. I use the speed on my GPS.

-Ben

craig
30-07-2008, 04:16 PM
Are there any guys down in Melbourne who would like do have a bit of R&D done on there car for a speedo adapter?

Piggy
30-07-2008, 04:40 PM
There is already a couple of threads in relation to speedo adaptors as well. May pay to search them out to correlate the data that has already been posted, some people have spent quite a bit of time on it already in R&D.

craig
30-07-2008, 05:36 PM
This is Marks Adapters who want to do the R&D.
As I have tried to get 1 of their adapters fitted and it would not work due to the speedo on the GXL coming from the ABS aswell as the gearbox

Piggy
30-07-2008, 05:56 PM
Yep.. Someone found the same a year or so ago. And from what I understood Marks couldn't find a fix for it? Other threads had the info from memory.

craig
30-07-2008, 06:03 PM
I have had a search around and not found any other threads on it.

MickL
30-07-2008, 06:13 PM
This might help:


http://autospeed.com/cms/A_108415/article.html

Mick

ronb1002
30-07-2008, 10:33 PM
From the work I did installing a rally computer in my D4D, I still suspect that these adaptors could be made to work. BUT it MUST be connected in the lead that connects directly into the speedo and not the lead from gearbox. These leads are not the same in the case of Prados with ABS and / or VSC.
But from the work I did, I suspect this lead could be difficult to get at.


Ron.

craig
31-07-2008, 04:03 PM
I think that a adapter could be installed also.
Marks adapters now have all the electrical drawings for the Prado they just need some one in Melbourne who is willing to have a bit of R&D done to ensure it works.
I would do it but I am in Sydney and are to busy with work to go down to Melbourne.