PDA

View Full Version : Toyota Trailer Wiring - Fault



PradoGXL08
12-04-2008, 08:45 PM
HI All,

I have a STD Toyota Towbar and 7 Pin Round female socket wired for 5 pins fitted new to my 08 Prado at time of delivery.

When I have tried to fit the male plug on my trailer to the socket, the Yellow ABS Warning light comes on in the Dash.

The trailer lights all work correctly, but I am worried about the ABS light.

Has anyone else had this problem before?

If so, what was done to correct it.


Please Advise

Stuart

Piggy
13-04-2008, 09:22 AM
Have you tried it with another trailer?

I would suggest that if the issue presents itself with another (or more) trailers, then its time to return it to who fitted the towbat (Toyota?).

Makes me wonder if they have foofed the wiring connections? The ABS warnings should have no interface to standard wiring for lighting.

quadcam
13-04-2008, 01:00 PM
I would be thinking an installation problem. My towbar was dealer fitted and the first I went to hire a trailer the indicators didn't work. I said to the hire place it must be the trailer (new vehicle) and they said the trailer would not be the problem (as expected). So we tried another one. Same thing.

I had a multimeter and it turned out the indicators didn't work on the vehicle side of the plug. I was able to hotwire them so I could take the trailer. When I took it back to the installing dealer it took them a couple of hours to find out that they hadn't installed an unmarked fuse. Also as it is dealer fitment of a genuine accessory you think there would be some indication fitted to advise about the extra fuse. So if the trailer has been right before on multiple vehicles I would be looking to the installation.

MattWhite
14-04-2008, 08:15 AM
A bit sad really. Read the instructions and it's pretty clear. Plug the wiring into the multi pin plug already there and fit an extra fuse in the box under the bonnet. Not too hard. Without being horrible, I think you might be horrified of the 'qualifications' of the people fitting the accessories.
Matt

Crammy
14-04-2008, 08:38 AM
And if they wanted to do a decent job on it they could even test it after they do the job!

Snaga
14-04-2008, 11:18 AM
A bit sad really. Read the instructions and it's pretty clear. Plug the wiring into the multi pin plug already there and fit an extra fuse in the box under the bonnet. Not too hard. Without being horrible, I think you might be horrified of the 'qualifications' of the people fitting the accessories.
Matt

Not always that simple unfortunately :(

When I had my tow bar installed a couple of months ago... (not by Toyota)... after the guy finished the install he tested the connections and there was no power running to the trailer wiring loom. He had to jump power from the rear power socket rather than try and work out where the original wiring went wrong.

I must say, he earnt his money on that install... oh, and it was his first Prado as well :lol: :lol:

MattWhite
14-04-2008, 05:58 PM
Well that is a first but hey, things happen! I have never investigated what circuit it actually powers up but you know there is an extra fuse to place under the bonnet though?

Snaga
14-04-2008, 06:04 PM
Well that is a first but hey, things happen! I have never investigated what circuit it actually powers up but you know there is an extra fuse to place under the bonnet though?

Yep... poor bloke tested everything he had done... replaced fuses... then started multi-metering the original loom...

The earlier conversation prompted me to go have a look.
Turns out he hasn't put a grommet of any sort where he came into the car jack cavity...

Anyone got any suggestions how to post fit a grommet without undoing all the wiring??... silicone??

[edit] p.s... sorry for the hijack :(

D4D-GXL
14-04-2008, 06:19 PM
Anyone got any suggestions how to post fit a grommet without undoing all the wiring??... silicone??

[edit] p.s... sorry for the hijack :(

Cut a slit into the grommet and slide it over the cable then plug it into the hole. This will not 100% seal the grommet because of the slit, so a little silicon may assist to close the slit.

quadcam
14-04-2008, 07:41 PM
Well that is a first but hey, things happen! I have never investigated what circuit it actually powers up but you know there is an extra fuse to place under the bonnet though?
Not quite sure what you are saying / asking but on mine the extra fuse they added for the trailer indicators is in the fuse box behind the battery and is between the Radio and Door lock fuses. And to keep you looking there is no sticker or indication added to tell you the location.

The only hints to find it are that it is not listed under the cover in the descriptions and the installed fuse is different from all the OEM fuses (it doesn't have the rating on top).

Snaga
14-04-2008, 09:11 PM
Well that is a first but hey, things happen! I have never investigated what circuit it actually powers up but you know there is an extra fuse to place under the bonnet though?
Not quite sure what you are saying / asking but on mine the extra fuse they added for the trailer indicators is in the fuse box behind the battery and is between the Radio and Door lock fuses. And to keep you looking there is no sticker or indication added to tell you the location.

The only hints to find it are that it is not listed under the cover in the descriptions and the installed fuse is different from all the OEM fuses (it doesn't have the rating on top).

I'm guessing he was reffering to my statement re: no power.

.... sorry, back on topic now... :oops:

Oh, and thanks D4D... will do.

Piggy
14-04-2008, 10:28 PM
Snaga, I was more perturbed that he has taken power off the internal power outlet :shock:

MattWhite
14-04-2008, 10:53 PM
Well that is a first but hey, things happen! I have never investigated what circuit it actually powers up but you know there is an extra fuse to place under the bonnet though?
Not quite sure what you are saying / asking but on mine the extra fuse they added for the trailer indicators is in the fuse box behind the battery and is between the Radio and Door lock fuses. And to keep you looking there is no sticker or indication added to tell you the location.

The only hints to find it are that it is not listed under the cover in the descriptions and the installed fuse is different from all the OEM fuses (it doesn't have the rating on top).

Honestly not being a smart a**. Just if they'd followed what the little pamphlet said it would all work normally. More that they too two hours to find it. I know it's unmarked but how many would your average dealer fit?

quadcam
15-04-2008, 12:26 AM
Honestly not being a smart a**. Just if they'd followed what the little pamphlet said it would all work normally. More that they too two hours to find it. I know it's unmarked but how many would your average dealer fit?
Maybe it was a Monday after a big weekend, I can't remember. My comment about being unmarked referred to if you or I are trying to find out why they don't work. Especially when the car indicators work which leads you to think that the power is there and it's a different problem. You have to know to look for an unmarked fuse in the fusebox. Even harder for an owner to look for an unmarked fuse that hasn't been installed.

But drifting off the topic a bit more they have managed to beat that feat a couple of times since. I started it up after one service to have the belt (V6) screaming like anything. Sure enough it had oil spilt on it so they probably hadn't fitted the drain to the filter base. They replaced the belt. But the best of all is after the last Rav service. Phone call the next morning asking if we can check to see if the engine is missing the dipstick. Sure was. They came and delivered it quick.

Chippy
15-04-2008, 07:16 AM
Phone call the next morning asking if we can check to see if the engine is missing the dipstick. Sure was. They came and delivered it quick.

Their service department certainly wasn't short of dipsticks .... working as technicians :lol: :lol: :lol:

Cheers
Chippy

Wayne1971
26-04-2008, 03:40 PM
I have had a similar issue, however, it was in relation to the engine warning light coming on after our first towing trip with an off road camper trailer. All was fine until we disconnected and were about to take just the car to do some shopping. Not far down the road, the engine warning light came on, and the wife returned the car without travelling any further to town.

The following day we took the car to our local toyota service centre, and on the way, we experienced a number of further faults starting to occur. The air-con panel went blank, all indicators failed, however, we still had hazard lights operable.

The Service centre advised the following :
- A master fuse had blown, which they replaced
- They felt an overload was made on a circuit (mobile phone charger, fluoro light was being charged also in back 12V point, 2 way radio is also connected to 12V point in front of car, and the Camper trailer has electric brakes)

Their solution was to disconnect the reverse wire from the trailer loom, and if it happens again, to go and see them.

Should I be satisfied with this resolution???? All good and well to disconnect reverse wire from loom, but what happens when reversing at night????

Piggy
26-04-2008, 08:33 PM
Does your trailer have reverse lights is the first question?

Wayne1971
27-04-2008, 06:31 PM
No, my trailer doesn't have reverse lights. I suppose it isn't relevant in this case that they have disconnected the reverse wire, but it seems like a bodgey attempt at correcting a fault.

Thanks
Wayne

Piggy
27-04-2008, 09:05 PM
Most trailer wiring does not have the reverse wiring connected, as it causes faults with 5/7 pin wiring.

Wayne1971
27-04-2008, 09:16 PM
Thanks for the comments.

Being a new 08 D4D proud owner, it wasn't something i had experienced with my previous 2002 V6 Petrol.

Long live the feedback and support from the members on this site. :D

MattWhite
27-04-2008, 09:52 PM
I have seen the reverse/spare wire used for caravan/camper power. Far from the best solution IMO. I use an anderson plug to power our camper. Just wonder if your camper has on-board power and it fed back through the system somehow?

Wayne1971
29-04-2008, 11:34 AM
Matt,

Yes, we have an onboard battery supply in the camper trailer, however, we do not currently draw power from the car when travelling. I am still to set up a charging system for the battery whilst we are driving.

Any suggestions/ comments regarding this would be appreciated.

regards

Wayne

Spurio
29-04-2008, 12:34 PM
I use quite a few trailers and got sick of checking the wiring. I came across this thing which checks the vehicle wiring. Most of the time it is how much dirt and mud is in the connection that was the problem.

http://www.ktcables.com.au/trailer_plugs.aspx

As for the trailer-battery, depending on the tolerances and what you are running you need to get a motor-sparky to do some calcs on minimum diameter of wires, voltage drop and usage requirements.

Or you could just go the cheap and easy Anderson Plug setup. I think Chippy had a DIY editorial on here some where.

MattWhite
29-04-2008, 01:04 PM
Chippy did and I have a very similar set-up but read the D4D charging voltage thread. It talks about second battery issues which will effect you too.
Good luck with the trailer issue, just throwing the suggestion out there. :wink:

Wayne1971
29-04-2008, 07:36 PM
Thanks for the feedback.

Regards

Wayne :D