PDA

View Full Version : TX4400



joracha
11-10-2007, 07:29 PM
Today i got my UHF installed. I went with a TX4400 and Alpine stereo.
http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l259/joracha/PA110027.jpg

speedcomm
11-10-2007, 08:03 PM
Double Din looks great !
You dont know what the side pieces are from that fit between the UHF and the hole in the dash and extend up to the edge of the stereo ? wonder if they are a Toyota piece.

joracha
11-10-2007, 08:59 PM
the sides are a sleeve that you can buy, not sure if if a toyota part but it came from the car stereo shop in Rocky.

fishnut
26-04-2008, 05:24 PM
decided to bump an old thread rather than create a new one to ask for help. I have searched with no joy :? !

I have myself a TX4400 (for the cost of a carton of beer!) and I have it in place - will post pics when finished. Right, time for admitting I'm not too experienced on the electrics so I need some advice.

How should I wire it up for power? What should I hook into? Do I go through the firewall and wire into something under the bonnet or do I go into the wiring under the dash somewhere?

I don't have a second battery (yet!) so I only want it on when the ignition is on.

Also, any advice on wire gauge and size of in-line fuse?

Anyone feel like talking me through it?

while I'm at it - experiences with aerials for these units???

Cheers,

Glenn

damonat
26-04-2008, 06:18 PM
decided to bump an old thread rather than create a new one to ask for help. I have searched with no joy :? !

I have myself a TX4400 (for the cost of a carton of beer!) and I have it in place - will post pics when finished. Right, time for admitting I'm not too experienced on the electrics so I need some advice.

How should I wire it up for power? What should I hook into? Do I go through the firewall and wire into something under the bonnet or do I go into the wiring under the dash somewhere?

I don't have a second battery (yet!) so I only want it on when the ignition is on.

Also, any advice on wire gauge and size of in-line fuse?

Anyone feel like talking me through it?

while I'm at it - experiences with aerials for these units???

Cheers,

Glenn


glenn. it's easy as.
run your power off either the cigerette lighter, or power socket.
you could use either 3mm or 4mm automotive wiring.
the TX4400, usually comes with an inline fuse on its power lead.
do you have this?
if so, just wire up to either power supply and your all done,
or make up a power lead, and all is good.

i run my power off the power socket, as i run dual batteries, so
i don't load the power socket circuit at all, except for the UHF.
the max load on all power socket, shouldn't exceed 10 amp.
a UHF runs 2-5 amp fuse, so it wont load the circuit too much.
any problems let me know, and i'll talk you through it

fishnut
26-04-2008, 06:45 PM
Excellent! Thanks damonat - that's what I was looking for. The CB was removed from another truck and they must have left the in-line fuse in the original car. So, if I stick a 5 amp fuse in line, I should be safe?

damonat
26-04-2008, 09:06 PM
yer, but no bigger.
glad i didn't confuse you too much

Justo
27-04-2008, 11:59 AM
Gday fishnut, If you have any hassles with the wire up job I would wire directly to the battery as I've had issues before with alternator feedback. That wont solve the problem of turning the unit off when you turn the vehicle off though.!
I don't know what everyone else recommends for aerials but I have a couple of the Uniden AT470 6db aerials and think they are great setup.
http://www.prestigecom.net.au/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=36&products_id=636
or this RFI CD900 is a great aerial and the rubber base is a good idea for offroad as some aerials are prone to snapping off under constant vibration.
http://www.prestigecom.net.au/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=36&products_id=635

Justo
27-04-2008, 12:20 PM
And one more tip.. 8) if you cut the aerial connector off to feed it through the firewall you will need to buy another one. I prefer the solder type rather than the crimp type but I do have access to a crimping tool if you need it.
And it's critical to separate the earth shroud properly before soldering it up. Give me yell and I'll give you a hand if you want.

LiveFreeAndRoam
27-04-2008, 04:23 PM
I don't have a second battery (yet!) so I only want it on when the ignition is on.

Hi Fishnut!

What a great deal you got!

Like many before me, I also wired my unit (a TX3440) directly to the battery. In receive mode, there is really no big drain on the battery. I haven't left mine turned on overnight, but from theTX4400 specs (http://www.gme.net.au/support/Customer/manuals/tx4400.pdf), it draws just 210mA muted and 600mA full volume.

If someone can say what the Amp-hour rating is of an average battery, that would give you an idea of how long you could leave this turned on without leaving you with a dead battery.

If you search for "Amp" in the PDF, there is a mention of it requiring a 2Amp fuse when connected to the batteries +ve terminal.

For many great ideas on the installation, perhaps try the GME TX3440 thread (http://www.pradopoint.com/viewtopic.php?t=756&highlight=3440). Whilst the units are obviously different, the install has a lot of similarities.

Good luck with your installation and I'll be looking forward to seeing your pics.

Cheers,
LFaR.

fishnut
29-04-2008, 03:49 PM
Thanks everyone for all the advice. The unit is now installed and ready for the aerial to arrive...

LFaR - cheers for the link to the TX4400 manual.

I have opted for the RFI CD900. Seems like the best option for a diesel bullbar mount for a reasonable buck.

Photobucket is down, so I will post my install pics when it comes back.

damonat
29-04-2008, 03:53 PM
Thanks everyone for all the advice. The unit is now installed and ready for the aerial to arrive...

LFaR - cheers for the link to the TX4400 manual.

I have opted for the RFI CD900. Seems like the best option for a diesel bullbar mount for a reasonable buck.

Photobucket is down, so I will post my install pics when it comes back.

thought you would have waited for tech day.
how did you go with install. pretty straight forward.

fishnut
29-04-2008, 04:38 PM
yep - pretty easy as you say. I made it more complicated by doing a no-holes install (you'll see the pics soon...) and by hard wiring my reverse camera at the same time...

Thanks again

fishnut
30-04-2008, 01:25 PM
since my install was not electrical in nature, I posted it here.

http://www.pradopoint.com/viewtopic.php?p=41877#41877

mototrim
30-04-2008, 01:47 PM
Nice job Fishnut and great pics,youve given me an :idea: