PDA

View Full Version : My UHF Mounting Point



Timmay
15-08-2007, 05:57 PM
Afternoon Gents,
Thought i would share where i have put my UHF radio. I am quite keen to keep the interior of the vehicle clean and reasonably standard to keep it looking sharp but also to keep prying eyes from the gear i have in the car. I also only use a lot of this gear on the camping weekends and around town they are usually off, so it doesnt need to be accessible.
I had a large DIN UHF radio from a previous vehicle and although i looked at an upgrade, i simply decided to stick with my good old reliable radio that has never let me down, and i could keep the $$ for something else. So i opted to install my UHF in the glovebox, where the service books are kept, it fits perfectly in here, sits flush on a bit of foam and double sided velcro. i have the hand piece off until i need it when it simply runs out of the glove box and sits on the 4WD gear lever.
To allow easy hearing i installed an external speaker in the passengers side footwell.
Obtaining power from in that area is a sinch as i can run a cable from the dual battery directly through firewall.

As for an aerial, i have not yet put on a bull bar (it will be an ARB delux when i save the coin!) and i am not keen in the brackets the extend from the bonnet line. After heaps of researh i decided on a glass mounted whip aerial, looks exactly like a mobile phone aerial. As i usually only ever use the UHF for car to car, the reception has never been an issue. I purchased the kit for about $65 and it comes with two Aerials, a one foot, and a three foot. Although the range is not as good as a bull bar mounted one, it works perfectly until i get the bullbar, and looks great too.

If anyone can enlighten me on how to upload photos i will post some photos. [/img]

speedcomm
20-08-2007, 05:18 PM
I run an on glass antenna on mine too, works a treat, dont want to listen to crap more than a few km anyway ! I have have had a highgain bullbar elevated feed on in the past and the range difference is not all that much, the onglass antennas are very critical of tuning, the antenna needs to be tuned when installed ( RFI brand anyway ) VSWR meter in line and twizzle little screw in the side for best VSWR. I run with the little whip all the time, which you may be able to see in the front left hand top corner of my windscreen in my avatar.

Timmay
24-08-2007, 05:02 PM
Another post guys with a photo of my UHF setup in the glovebox.

Timmay
http://i241.photobucket.com/albums/ff17 ... G_0705.jpg (http://i241.photobucket.com/albums/ff173/Timmay077/IMG_0705.jpg)

http://i241.photobucket.com/albums/ff17 ... G_0706.jpg (http://i241.photobucket.com/albums/ff173/Timmay077/IMG_0706.jpg)

brendo82
18-01-2008, 06:45 PM
Hey Guys just another idea on 2-way mounting. I`m a bit anal about drillin holes in dashes and what not, and I had a bit of a hard time figuring out where to put the tx3200. I finally settled on the center console and it came up a treat with the remote speaker, and no wiring or head unit to be found. The hand piece will come out of the console and the lid will latch back shut when you want to use it. I only drilled one hole in the end and it was in the depths of the console. I hope these pics will put a fresh light on the problem for anyone who thinks like me. :idea:

If anyone wants the photo`s or knows how to upload them just let me know

Simmo67
25-12-2008, 10:37 AM
Here's where I have my UHF mounted. I moved the handpiece mount bracket today and used some great velco stuff, I got from Dick Smiths.



Hey Matt, did that velcro stuff do the job for you? Are you happy with it? I am really umming and arring where to mount my handpice :oops:

troy_i
02-01-2009, 09:13 PM
i had my new uhf unit installed under dash (passenger side) then the handpiece cable actually comes out in the spare plastic pocket next to the 2nd start button, i then removed the vent cover next to the radio and made a bracket up and screwed it into the dash, so when the vent coverplate is put back on there are no holes visible and all that you see in the car is the 2way handpiece ( 2way is the new uniden with all the stuff on handpiece) so if i ever want to sell i take it out and there are no ugly screw holes anywhere..
looks tidy and hard for someone to steal..

ntp
02-01-2009, 09:17 PM
i had my new uhf unit installed under dash (passenger side) then the handpiece cable actually comes out in the spare plastic pocket next to the 2nd start button, i then removed the vent cover next to the radio and made a bracket up and screwed it into the dash, so when the vent coverplate is put back on there are no holes visible and all that you see in the car is the 2way handpiece ( 2way is the new uniden with all the stuff on handpiece) so if i ever want to sell i take it out and there are no ugly screw holes anywhere..
looks tidy and hard for someone to steal..
Well... pics?

MDS69
02-01-2009, 09:35 PM
^^^ yeah what he said.

Millsy23
01-03-2009, 09:28 PM
I have done a similar thing to Troy, there are pics on my rig buildup. No visible holes in dash, replace blanks and you would not know it was ever there.
Millsy

learner52
16-03-2009, 09:20 PM
Hello all...Im brand new to this wonderful site but have spoken to some people from here.

I am in the process of putting my cb radio in the Prado and have a question for you. It is a TX3440 GME. I want to put it under the center console and so have been to Toyota to ask how to remove the center piece. Their advice is to undo the two screws in the consol and just pull it out. It is making me nervous that I will snap the plastic clips holding things together. I have seen this done on here and thought it was great but it didnt show me how to get the center out and now I cant find the thread either. As you can see Im computer illiterate.....oh well. They tell me I will be able to hear it ok but I am adding an external speaker to help my old ears. The handpiece I will clip inside the large box and just hang it out when we need it. Hopefully lots.

I am also curious if anyone can tell me if this is right....I have been told by the salesman that I dont need a spring for the antenna on the bull bar. I am putting in a UHF CB 6.0 db 477 MHz steel one piece of 850mm length. I thought you always needed a spring to take the whip out but the salesman said I dont need it. Any advice would be great please.

Brilliant site and extremely helpfull for al sorts of information. Keep it going.

The learner

Mossie
18-03-2009, 01:27 AM
Hey Brendo,
Do you have any pics pf the install to post here on the forum ?

thanks


Hey Guys just another idea on 2-way mounting. I`m a bit anal about drillin holes in dashes and what not, and I had a bit of a hard time figuring out where to put the tx3200. I finally settled on the center console and it came up a treat with the remote speaker, and no wiring or head unit to be found. The hand piece will come out of the console and the lid will latch back shut when you want to use it. I only drilled one hole in the end and it was in the depths of the console. I hope these pics will put a fresh light on the problem for anyone who thinks like me. :idea:

If anyone wants the photo`s or knows how to upload them just let me know

wes
18-03-2009, 08:21 PM
spent last night mountint the gme 3420 into the boss' car(read Wife).mounted the front face under the ashtray.The main part of the unit is mounted behind the glovebox and to the left above the kick panel.power was sourced from the factory plug after consulting with a mech from toyota.the display unit is recessed slightly so as not to be seen by prying eyes.

WizudOfOz
18-03-2009, 09:10 PM
Hi Wes

Any photos for us? How did you fix the head unit into position?

I have a similar radio in Uniden & am considering mounting positions.

Cheers

Craig

MDS69
19-03-2009, 08:27 AM
spent last night mountint the gme 3420 into the boss' car(read Wife).mounted the front face under the ashtray.The main part of the unit is mounted behind the glovebox and to the left above the kick panel.power was sourced from the factory plug after consulting with a mech from toyota.the display unit is recessed slightly so as not to be seen by prying eyes.

Hi Wes,
Any more info on the factory plug you mentioned for power. Thanks.

wes
19-03-2009, 05:13 PM
wasnt able to secure the brain into place at the moment(currently resting against the sidewall and between the factory main wiring loom)Damn work commitments didnt allow enough time.

will try and get the time and the car from the wife to get some photos for both the final mounting and the location of the power supply.... :cry: :(